6am Workouts Are My Thing I Guess…

This past week I got back into essentially started my 6am workout routine.  I had decided to start going back to the gym before work back in December, but after 1 week, the students were gone for their break and the gym hours drastically changed.  Now this past week was their 2nd week back in session and Tuesday morning marked my early morning return to the Rudolf Fitness Center.  As you know, I am planning on training for a marathon, and while I haven’t started an official training program just yet, I am still getting some short runs in to stay in better shape.  The other thing that I am focusing on is my core and sticking to a few key workouts and planks to get that jump started.

Running in the winter is my favorite the worst thing I can think of when it comes to fitness.  I am not a huge fan of running on a treadmill because of the stationary nature of the beast.  I also don’t like to run on the indoor track because you run by the clock every lap and the clock only moves 1 min every time and that does nothing for making the time feel faster.  Lastly, during the hours of the day that I am able to run, it is still pitch dark outside and not safe for running, especially in the snow, ice, and non-lite areas that I live.  This week I have settled for the treadmill because its the one I can most handle, probably definitely because of the TV’s available for viewing.

So the week went great and I am looking forward to another week of solid workouts.  I am mixing running and biking as the cardio and getting in about 20 minutes of solid core workouts in before heading back home to get ready for work.

Added bonus: I have yet to have a puking attack since the return, but I’ll keep you posted if it returns.

Leave a Reply

