And The Blend and Body Blitz Begins…

Image

Now that work has finally settled down become manageable, I am again getting back into my workouts.  I am still planning on running either a half or full marathon this spring and will hear next month if I am accepted into the NYC marathon.

Here at Gonzaga, they do fitness classes in 2 sessions each semester.  Last semester I did the TRX classes .check out what TRX is here and how my first class went here. and actually really enjoyed them.  I clearly needed to adjust my diet some when doing the classes because I was burning more calories that I was consuming throughout those weeks. .more on this later this week.  With the change at work .my boss moved to Seattle, so I have taken over that role. the times that TRX are offered this session just won’t work with my schedule.  TRX was a great core workout, so I am going to look into other areas in Spokane that offer the class on the cheap.

All of this brings me to this sessions classes and I have decided to quad the workouts that I am doing through the RFC.  Last session I did TRX once a week.  This week begins the session two classes and I will be doing The Blend twice a week and Body Blitz twice a week.

The Blend: combines Yoga and mat method based on Pilates to enhance muscle strength and length.  The Blend is also designed to improve posture, flexibility, & physical awareness.  Great for stress reduction!

Body Blitz: an energetic, high-intensity, total body workout that incorporates intervals of cardiovascular exercise and strength training.

The thing about it is that they are back-to-back in the evenings, with a 10-minute break separating the two.  I’m excited and anxious for these to begin.  I have done 1 yoga workout in my life, and it wasn’t the best. My excuse was my lack of flexibility, but I think that was basically just my excuse. I am excited to hopefully get a little flexibility and I hope the classes combine to really push me.

This will likely mean that my runs will need to be MWS and will probably reserve TR mornings for biking, but we’ll see how I am feeling once all of this has hit me this week.

Photo courtesy of Details‘s article on Adam Levine’s yoga lifestyle.  Let’s just say that if this works for me like it does him, I wouldn’t be upset.  Click on the picture to see the article.

Leave a comment