#RoofReacts to NBC Fall Trailers

Trailers for most of the new fall series have been spread across the internet in the few weeks since the 2012 Upfronts and they always bring a mixed bag of thoughts and feelings with them.  Here is a series of posts of my reactions to the new shows on network television for Fall 2012.  These views are based on what I see in the trailers below and remember that I am picky with my thoughts.

 

Here are the trailers for the NBCs new fall shows.  They are bringing in a lot and they are desperately hoping that a few of them stick. NBC is so up in the air all the time that I can’t have a strong grasp on them as an overall network.  I greatly enjoy some of their stuff, but then can’t stand other “prized” offerings.  NBC has me scheduled with A) their reality offerings: The Voice, The Biggest Loser and B) quality dramas: Parenthood, Law & Order: SVU

 

Go On – Tuesdays 9:00 PM

Starring Matthew Perry

My Thoughts: I love the “march sadness” joke in the trailer and Matthew Perry is still great.  It also has the old janitor basketball star from ‘Air Bud’, which is only good things in my book.  I am not sure how long he can stay in the recovery circle and have it feel authentic, but it doesn’t look horrible.  Unfortunately for it, its up against New Girl, Happy Endings, and NCIS:LA which only means very strong competition.  I think it gets moved quickly or cancelled.  I’ll catch it online to start with, as nothing is getting past Happy Endings and FOX takes too long to release shows online.

The New Normal – Tuesdays 9:30 PM

Starring Georgia King, Justin Bartha, Andrew Rannells, & Ellen Barkin

My Thoughts: I am pretty torn on this trailer right now.  It does look like it could be funny, but Ryan Murphy is a basket case.  Justin Bartha is my favorite part of ‘The Hangover’ but all in all I think I will enjoy this show.  It’s up against Don’t Trust the B- in Apt. 23, The Mindy Project, and NCIS:LA so it will have it tough as well.  It would sit as my 2nd DVR’d show behind Apt 23.

Animal Practice – Wednesdays 8:00 PM

Starring Justin Kirk & Joanna Garcia

My Thoughts: This looks ridiculous.  Kirk is great on Weeds and the late addition of Garcia makes this a show to come back to once it premieres, but an animal hospital just doesn’t do it for me.  Add to the fact that it’s going up against Survivor, X Factor, and Arrow and we have a recipe for disaster.

Guys with Kids – Wednesdays 8:30 PM

Starring Anthony Anderson, Jesse Bradford, Zach Gregger, & Jamie Lynn Sigler

My Thoughts:  Jimmy Fallon is the producer so I want to give it a chance to grow into what his genius mind can see here, but with the Animal Practice lead-in and also against Survivor, X Factor, and Arrow – it looks slim.  Aside from that, it just doesn’t look that good based on the trailer, but I’ll watch online in support of Fallon, Bradford, and Anderson.

Revolution – Mondays 10:00 PM

Starring no one of note

My Thoughts: I love the premise and the mystery that comes up at the end of the trailer of a bigger issue here.  I think it could start fast and fade quickly.  The lack of a star can’t help, but it’s getting a solid lead-in with The Voice to try to tackle 2 seasoned shows in Castle and Hawaii 5-0.  It’ll be the only thing I record at 10pm on Mondays, so hopefully it sticks around.

Chicago Fire – Wednesdays 10:00 PM

Starring Jesse Spencer & Taylor Kinney

My Thoughts: I think it looks good.  A network version of Rescue Me? I’m down. Obviously it won’t be as gritty as RM, but I’ll still check in to find out.  Dick Wolf is behind it, so it can’t be all bad.  Its against new show Nashville and aging CSI, but the SVU lead-in isn’ going to help too much.  It will be on my DVR.

 

Check out my look at The CW Trailers.

Check out my look at the CBS Trailers.

Leave a Reply

