#RoofReacts to the ABC Fall Trailers

Trailers for most of the new fall series have been spread across the internet in the few weeks since the 2012 Upfronts and they always bring a mixed bag of thoughts and feelings with them.  Here is a series of posts of my reactions to the new shows on network television for Fall 2012.  These views are based on what I see in the trailers below and remember that I am picky with my thoughts.

 

Now we come across ABCs set of trailers and they have a lot of them.  ABC has 5 new shows for this fall and 4 more set for midseason.  ABC has been building themselves as a soapy, female sckewed network, but some of these shows look to be changing that.  I watch a good number of ABC shows A) good comedy: Happy Endings, Don’t Trust the B- in Apt. 23, & Suburgatory, B) old school realty: The Bachelor, The Bachelorette, & Bachelor Pad, C) soapy twisty dramas: Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, & Revenge.

 

The Neighbors – Wednesdays 9:30 PM

Starring Jami Gertz & Simon Templeman

My Thoughts: This show looks horrible! Is this a bad skit or something? I love Jami Gertz from her horrible character in ‘Twister’, but no! The premise sounds stupid and the execution looks bad.  Good news is it isnt fighting with much at all in its target and gets a nice Modern Family lead-in, who hopefully leave quickly so they can put Happy Endings or Apt 23 back in that time slot.

Malibu Country – Fridays 8:30 AM

Starring Reba McEntire, Lily Tomlin, & Sara Rue

My Thoughts: I love Reba and loved her show Reba, but I am not sure about this. I am saying that only in support of Reba, as I want it to work, but this trailer does nothing to make me think that. Doesn’t have much to fight against on Friday night and has Tim Allen as a lead in.  Hopefully it turns around because her earlier show was pretty great. I’ll record it and wait for the improvements.

Nashville – Wednesdays 10:00 PM

Starring Connie Britton, Hayden Panettiere, Jonathan Jackson, & Eric Close

My Thoughts: Let’s get this out of the way: Connie Britton can do no wrong by me.  I will be watching this from the beginning and I love the jabs at fake, blonde, crossover artists, that can’t sing.  Hayden will play that character well and Connie will once again hit it out of the park.  Not too much competition aside from CSI and newbie Chicago Fire, plus they can hopefully pull in some Modern Family lead-in.

Last Resort – Thursday 8:00 PM

Starring Andre Braugher, Scott Speedman, Autumn Reeser, & Dichen Lachman

My Thoughts: It looks like a strong show and very strong pilot, but I am questioning if people will stay aboard the show and let it play out. Braugher should be a star and it has a great chance against lots of female focused shows.  Thursdays at 8pm has been very tough for ABC, so that will be interesting to see if it can lead out the night.  I am excited for it, but it should find its way onto my DVR taking the place of the X Factor results behind Big Bang Theory.

666 Park Avenue – Sundays 10:00 PM

Starring Dave Annable, Rachael Taylor, Robert Buckley, Terry O’Quinn, & Vanessa Williams

My Thoughts: I am not a huge horror fan, but I am a huge Rachael Taylor, Dave Annable, and Robert Buckley fan. It has hardly any competition on Sunday nights so it easily finds a DVR space for me and gets the Once Upon A Time and Revenge lead-in.  I am not sure how it will hold up, but I will be watching in support of those actors.

 

Check out my look at The CW Trailers.

Check out my look at the CBS Trailers.

Check out my look at the NBC Trailers.

Leave a Reply

